More Big Cats…

Some more photography of some big cats.

I went for a wander round where I volunteer on a free day and this is always good for me; it’s quiet and I get to see all the cats and spend a little time reflecting, thinking (especially as its nearly a year since my friend and I went round here together – good times πŸ™‚ ) and of course some photography! πŸ˜€

IMG_3622 IMG_3621

This is Manzi – he’s one of 3 brothers and probably the most regal looking of them; he reminds me of Mufasa from the Lion King.

IMG_3693 IMG_3692

Here is Puna – she’s a female Sumatran tiger; she loves to hide in or just behind her bamboo. Sumatran tigers are highly endangered species; in the wild there are between only 400 – 500 left. Puna has been successful in rearing young for the European Endangered Breeding Program.

IMG_3684

These pair of eyes are from another Sumatran tiger – Lumpur. He and his partner Raika came to Wildlife Heritage Foundation from London Zoo, they are quite old for tigers and were retired here to live out a nice and peaceful life together. πŸ™‚

Now for a pride of White lions. This is Themba with Mums – Joy and Sophia and the rest of the almost full grown lionesses. (Jasiri, Nuru, Shaka and Sabi)

IMG_3638 IMG_3653 IMG_3658 IMG_3672

They are very beautiful; when I took these photos they were just so relaxed and doing what lions do – lying around! πŸ™‚

This is Mia a cheetah.

IMG_3704

She was pretending to be asleep, but I managed to get a clear shot as she sneakily opened her eye. πŸ˜€

Last, I thought I would do a bit of a comparison for you. On the left is a dainty Cheetah paw and to the right is the pad of probably the biggest tiger here – Tamair.

IMG_3706 IMG_3696

I love Tamair, he’s a very old for a tiger – just over 18 but he still is in really good health, hopefully once I have gone through all the photographs I took I can show just how big he is.

I thought I would leave you with a link to a previous blog for the Open Days: Here and here is a direct link to the Wildlife Heritage Foundation website: Here

I do have more photographs but like I said I still have to go through and edit them. Hopefully I will be able to have another blog about the cats sooner rather than later. πŸ˜€

 

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “More Big Cats…

  1. It’s sad that these animals have ended up in captivity. What a bleak existence! However, I do realise that some, if not all, are rescued… and this must be their lifestyle from now on.

    While sad, it is WONDERFUL that such places exist and many humans really do care about these iconic creatures.

    Your photography is great!

    Stay blessed, and don’t stop caring – there are too few in this world who do… xx

    • Thanks for the compliment on the photography. πŸ™‚

      The cats themselves are in very very good condition, although like everyone else who enjoys seeing these magnificent animals would rather they be in their natural habitat.
      Hopefully one day we as a human race will stop encroaching on that land and maybe we can save not only these lovely animals but also the ones that aren’t getting the due care and attention that they deserve.
      Many thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

