Improving my wildflower meadow…

Recently I’ve been reading quite a lot about how to improve my wildflower meadow. Although it is in its first year and I have not expected to much flower activity to happen I wondered if there was anything I could do to improve the diversity of flowers for the following year. This got me thinking about a book I have recently read called, “A Buzz in the Meadow” by Dave Goulson.

P1010574

Dave Goulson is a professor at the University of Sussex and an entomologist and he has spent the last 30 years studying bumblebees and other various pollinating species and of course he is interested in the conservation of them. He brought a house in France in 2003 (an old farm-house really with a large field, the house has been renovated over the years) where he has made several wildflower hay meadow so that he could better study and do experiments to prove how much pesticides, climate change and human encroachment has affected these insects. (I do stress that he has not used any pesticides himself and that the wildflower meadows in the UK have declined by roughly 97% as mentioned in my previous blog Here )

Having read his book I discovered that you could use Yellow Rattle seed to help cut down on the grasses and help diversify wildflower species. I have since brought my Yellow Rattle and will hopefully be able to sow this seed in late July/August after I give my meadow its first ever cut. The book gave me some other great ideas on how to attract insects, but I really hope you might take the time and have a read of it – it’s definitely worth it. 🙂

008P1010562

The top Photograph is of my meadow earlier on in the year and the bottom one is of the meadow a few days ago. They are not very good photographs but I needed to give you an idea of  what it looks like. 🙂 I hope next year the meadow will produce many more flowers and much more diversity; this will then attract many more insects, especially the pollinating kind which we so depend on and that we must try to help out by doing as much as we can for them. 🙂

Here is a quick video from Dave Goulsons YouTube channel: The Bumblebee Professor 1

I hope you enjoy taking a look at this video, Dave Goulsons book has given me some wonderful ideas for my garden and I urge you to read it, and please go and have a look at the rest of his YouTube video’s, they give some tips on planting bee-friendly flowering plants. Link to Dave Goulsons YouTube channel: Here

Let me know what you think and what you’re doing in your garden to help our little insect pollinators…they really need it? 🙂

 

2 responses to “Improving my wildflower meadow…

  1. Some good info and our Wildflowers have been great this year but I am wondering about all the fields that get covered in bracken. Quite rare here in southern Spain but means we have less wildflower.

    • That’s a shame you don’t get as many flowers there. 😦 Maybe I should do some research into wildflower meadows in Europe too – might be good for a blog as well! 🙂 Thanks for the comment and the compliment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

