Beautiful Butterflies…

The weather in the UK has been glorious where I live and I have taken quite a lot of photographs – especially of some butterflies in a wildflower meadow where I walk. So I thought I’d share a few with you. 🙂

Here’s a Common blue (Polyommatus icarus). I really love this photograph as it took patience and time to get the right shot, plus it was perched on the very tip of some meadow grass. 🙂

IMG_3902

This is a Meadow brown (Maniola jurtina). It is very common in the meadow where I took this photo hence the name; I actually counted fifty of them and then gave up…there were just so many!

IMG_3913

This butterfly I have never seen before, it’s called a Ringlet (Aphantopus hyperantus).

IMG_3892

Now this is a Large skipper (Ochlodes sylvanus). If you look carefully you can see it’s tongue (proboscis) getting the nectar from the flower. 😀

IMG_3898

Hopefully I have researched and identified all the butterflies correctly, but if not you’re welcome to tell me otherwise and I would be very grateful!

I loved taking these photographs. I spent about three hours sitting, waiting and just really enjoying being in the peace and quiet happily snapping away. 🙂

This was a great place for photography – have you a favourite place to take a picture or just enjoy the silence and natural beauty of somewhere?

Leave a Reply

