Garden delights…

Having not posted a garden update for a while (Oops!) I thought I would today. ๐Ÿ™‚

First off there’s the veggie patch here –

IMG_3962

Top left and working down are tomatoes – I love a good tomato and we have a bumper crop this year by looks of it :), up next are potatoes; first time I have grown these and already we have had some new potatoes with some salads this year; I am really pleased with the quality of these and the flavour. Last but not least on the right side are the cabbage; we are waiting for them to heart up in the centre of the plant ready for eating, but they do look good and haven’t been eaten too much by the slugs and snails (we don’t use any pesticides in the garden – everything grows organically). ๐Ÿ™‚

Here we have our onions and in the very far background you can see our raspberry bushes –

IMG_3963

I have already picked the raspberries and we have stored some in the freezer for the winter. ๐Ÿ™‚ The onions and shallots are almost ready for digging out of the ground then they can be strung up in the garage – I’m not a massive fan of onions but my dad is, so we planted quite a lot this year; I also have a How To in a previous blog here if you’re interested on how to string onions: Here

Here’s a picture of a runner-bean flower. It will be a while before these are ready but their going up the poles nicely, although we could do with a touch of rain to keep the plants hydrated (might have to do a small rain dance :D).

IMG_3965

We have some new flowers too.

IMG_3960

This is called a Delphinium, a very bee-friendly plant which I grew from a seedling. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really didn’t expect too much this year, but it seems to have flowered really well. ๐Ÿ™‚

Probably my favourite flower is this –

IMG_3957

It’s a sunflower – Russian Giant. It’s about 10′ (feet) tall and I have 6 dotted around the garden (this being the tallest at the moment). I love the florets on the head of the plant; each of them is actually an individual flower – the bees love it (I really like this picture too :D).

We also have our individual wild bee house.

IMG_3961

If you look at the top set of holes, the middle ones have been used. I think it is probably leafcutter bees that have used the holes, although it could be another type of insect as well (a third hole has been used since this photograph was taken). ๐Ÿ™‚

Finally I have a nice photograph of a deep red rose.

IMG_3967

Our rose-bush is in full bloom at the moment and they look and smell delightful too. ๐Ÿ˜€

I love my garden, all the home-grown fruit and veg, the fragrance and the look of the flowers, but most of all the wildlife which we are lucky enough to have in ours. ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s your garden like this time of the year and whats your favourite thing about it?

Leave a Reply

