New Camera Lens

I have recently brought a new camera lens, which is why I haven’t really posted since before Christmas.

Getting used to this lens (especially as it’s quite an expensive one) has been a good learning curve as well as being able to get out and about in my local woods and park. 🙂

Here’s a few of the shots I have taken.

This was on a very frosty morning; the lake had frozen in large parts and the birds were having trouble keeping their feet underneath them. This Black headed gull was trying stay upright and I just managed to capture it coming into land on the slippery surface of the lake.

img_1735

A female mallard duck was just coming into land when I got this photograph.

img_2089

I’m actually not quite sure whether it was a crash landing or just not very good – she was ok and just swam off sedately afterwards though! 🙂

A close up of a 1st year overwintering Black headed gull; I love the tail feathers in this photo, they’re so fanned out and really show up nicely.

img_1784

Here’s a bit of an untidy female blackbird from my garden.

img_1897

She’s ok but I’m not sure whether she’s been attacked by something. I have kept a close eye on her for the last week or so; she knows when I put out food so I make sure to have a good look at her when she feeds on the ground feeder in the garden and check that she’s ok and there seems to be no injury or damage anywhere – maybe it’s just the winter? 🙂

That’s all for the moment although I will have a post about the RSPB’s “Big Garden Birdwatch” which is coming up. Here’s a little bit of information for you if you’re interested: Here (Sorry The Big Garden Birdwatch is in the UK only)

I hope everyone has had a good Christmas and is doing well now that we’ve reached 2017?

 

 

2 responses to “New Camera Lens

Leave a Reply

